#105 I can’t believe this is happening! SXSW 2015 is on!

Finally…after years of saying I will…I finally AM. SXSW 2015 is happening. I’ve already built my schedule up with the likes of ODESZA, Tweens, PS I Love You, Single Mothers and Spring King up there on the ‘to see’ list – but I want to get much much more in where I can. I’ll feed it all back to you when I’m back, but drop me a tweet (@EliseCobain) if you want me to check out something specific. I’ll do my best!

Now…back to the music. I don’t usually share snippets of songs. I get irritated by the fact I want to enjoy it in full. In this case however, a snippet is tease enough to keep me raving about Kelala. Alongside SZA, Kelala is a queen of future R&B and one we should be paying close attention to. She’s teaming up with the right people and (watch out traditional R&B songstresses), she’s got one brilliant set of pipes on her too.

When I was first told about Jack Ü I thought it was a bit of a ‘really?’ moment. One of the worlds biggest DJ meets up with the hypest electro DJ in the world. Initially hearing “Take U There’ with Kiesza I was wondering if it was just going to turn into a show off match with features from the big names. In a way it kinda has with the next big release to feature none other than Justin Bieber. But arguably this is a fantastic move by the maturing singer who wants to associate himself with the music scene at large. He has the voice and the connections with ol’Skrilly and Diplo on his side. It’s a great track hands down. Don’t judge until you’ve heard it.

On a slight side note one of my treasured UK rock bands has returned with a punch – Dinosaur Pile Up. Meet “11 11” – the return track whose opening riff does sound a little killer as a trailer bed. The third album will no doubt be the one that sees them go out on a headline US tour and fingers crossed their own (ie us British lot) will embrace their sound and get them back for the same thing here.

Meet Team Morale – a Kentish duo who I’ve had the pleasure of listening to for the past 5 years. Starting their journey with BBC Introducing they were an intriguing mesh of indie guitars and recordings with beats. Maturing from song to song they are now working with Bad Panda Records to get “Ubuntu” to a wider audience: and stepping up with thoughtful and haunting constructions.

If the recent sunshine in the northern hemisphere (London, UK specifically) has inspired you to have BBQ’s and start thinking about going out without your coat, why not add a bit of Coin Banks to your life. With a Justin Timberlake-esque vocal and happy upbeat pop vibes with blues undertone this Perth happy-chappy is a perfect spring tune.

Elise x

Leave a Reply

