#57 When NYC electro meets Swedish pop (sounds bloody good)

I’ve just finished watching ‘The Day Of The Doctor’. Which is in an odd way inspired me to go and consume oddles of music and bring some good bits to you. Starting with the output of Swedish pop artists Erik Hassle meets the remix of NYC electro duo ASTR. Adding lots of reverb and placing a big ambient stamp on the original means it’s transformed from something that wouldn’t seem out of place on the Swedes chart to something big.

It’s great that new artist reach out to my email EPCobain@gmail.com to let me know what they’re up to or introduce themselves. Always good to get a hello and see what potentially cracking tunes are out there waiting to be discovered. Earlier this week My Heart The Brave popped into my Inbox and they’ve been on repeat ever since. All the track are written by frontman Caspar, and although he’s performed previously under other Danish acts, this is the part where we get to hear him in his full glory.

Keeping that electro theme in mind, the following remix was brought to my attention this week. Diplo usually tears the shit out of anything he remixes /creates and turns it into a full on basslead tune. I think he’s really shown his talents with this remix of Grizzly Bear. Mans not all just about drops and deep bass that rattles the speakers with influence from the trap sector. Nah, he’s made a full on sophisticated sounding remix here with a clear Diplo stamp on.

The Notwist will be a familiar name to some of you guys. Sadly the curtain of naivety has just been pulled back and I am confronted with a band who’ve been going since 1989 and strike me as a German Radiohead type, who have travelled across several genres to where they are today and sound very learned in their musical style. Taken from the upcoming ‘Close To The Glass’ album that’s due out next year, I can only say that their 8-album discography is going to keep me entertained for a bit whilst I catch up.

And lastly, I’m using this as a time to empathise with everyone that has those ‘I LOVE THIS SONG. But oh….they broke up several years ago’ moment when they hear a tune they thing is hot cakes. Single Mothers claim this happened in 2009…and they’ve been playing shows every since. So whilst they’re doing a Benjamin Button of their career I’m happily lapping up the tunes including this gem called ‘Nice Dresses’ (thanks to Mikey Shields for alerting me to that one!). I hear elements of At The Drive In. This is an absolute anthem. I really need to get out to Canada to see these guys.

Back next Sunday for your new music delivery! x

Leave a Reply

